locationpopla.blogg.se

Belkin custom firmware media server
Belkin custom firmware media server






belkin custom firmware media server
  1. Belkin custom firmware media server mp4#
  2. Belkin custom firmware media server install#
  3. Belkin custom firmware media server software#
  4. Belkin custom firmware media server Pc#
  5. Belkin custom firmware media server ps3#

If anyone is interested in the above, I can provide more information on request.ġ) The more obvious choice for streaming is PS3 Media Server (I have PMS v. The file rendered fine that way, but no subtitles, so if JohnB wants to just copy the DVD onto the FOX as a "flat" mpeg-2 he can do that too. I copied the temporary file onto my external hard disk and plugged it into the Hummy's front USB socket.

belkin custom firmware media server

I would be very interested in what others find here.

Belkin custom firmware media server Pc#

I'm not sure whether this is a problem in the streaming from my PC or in the rendering of the incoming stream by a Hummy. The worst issue for me because my wife and I are both deaf.Ĥ) the Hummy does stop rendering the stream at random times. The streaming seems to work well but I haven't overcome these limitations:ġ) plenty of (unnecessary) hard disk accesses writing and reading the temporary file! My Lenovo seems able to cope as long as VLC does not simultaneously render the video onto the PC screen,ģ) no success as yet with getting DVD subtitles to render on the Hummy. All files written to /tmp/ are deleted automatically on logout because of the settings on my system. I write my temporary file into /tmp/streaming/. At present they are providing "VLC media player 1.0.6 Goldeneye" and "ushare v 1.1a".

Belkin custom firmware media server install#

The Router is a Belkin 802.11 b/g.) VLC and ushare are easy to install in Ubuntu and fairly easy to use they are both available from the Ubuntu repositories. DVD drive is a Matshita DVD-RAM UJ-850) I have found a solution by using VLC to stream a DVD into a temporary file and simultaneously stream the file to the Hummy using a DLNA streamer (ushare) across my home network (wifi connection to the PC, wired connection to the Hummy.

belkin custom firmware media server

But the FOX doesn't have a DVD slot so I looked into streaming a DVD playing on my PC (Lenovo 3000 C200 laptop running Ubuntu 10.04.

Belkin custom firmware media server software#

Now that I have my brand-new HDR-FOX T2 (with modified software installed and MANY THANKS to all the efforts that have gone in to a fantastic set of additional functionality) I want to rationalise my set-top boxes and in particular junk my old PVR/DVD player. I have an input to JohnB's message of 17th October 2011 (near to the top of this thread): re streaming DVDs to the Hummy. Finally will it ff/rw files? I also remember that it didnt over DLNA. Although I seem to remember it did detect the correct aspect with. I remember it wasnt switchable or detectable on MKV files. Can someone confirm this for sure?Īlso has aspect ratio switching (16:9, 4:3) support improved at all. But as a PVR/Freeview+HD solution, it's really awful!įrom what i've read about the custom firmware, I can mount network shares as if they were USB drives and playback direct, without the need for DLNA (or copying to the local drive). They all live on my rather fab Buffalo Linkstation LIVE 2TB and i'm currently streaming reliably to a fetchTV. I specifically wanted to build a library of my DVD collection and have invested a lot of time in the MKV format as it supports MPEG2/AC3/Sub without the need to re-encode. I've been thinking about getting a HDR-Fox T2 again since the introduction of custom firmware after being very disappointed with the DLNA media support OOTB. (HDDs develop so rapidly that there is no guarantee that a compatible drive will be available if and when the original drive fails.) It should then be possible to clone the existing drive using, say, Acronis. If I do get e HDR-Fox T2, as an insurance measure, I will probably look what HDD it is using and buy a spare HDD of the same type.

belkin custom firmware media server

One thought though - HDDs eventually die. So - that is possible, especially as it will only be relevant to my existing files (plus any DVD rips). The audio was also transcoded from mp2 to mp3 but I set the audio bitrate to 320, hoping to minimise the transcoding loss. The video was actually very good and any difference from the original wouldn't really be noticed. I then transcoded the same file to DivX using TMPG Express 4. The resulting video, displayed on my HP x23LED monitor, was pretty reasonable but did show some transcoding artefacts.

Belkin custom firmware media server mp4#

I try to avoid transcoding from one lossy format to another, especially with audio, but I've done some tests out of curiosity.įirst I transcoded a mpg file to mp4 using VideoReDo (I already had the software as I am a long time user of VideoReDo).








Belkin custom firmware media server